Skip to main content

Mohapatra, Trilochan

Member of the Alliance Board of Trustees

Trilochan Mohapatra, an Indian national, completed his B.Sc. (Agriculture) from OUAT, Bhubaneswar in 1985; M.Sc. in Genetics from Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi in 1987; and Ph.D in Genetics from Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi in 1992.

He presently holds the position of Secretary, Department of Agricultural Research and Education & Director General, Indian Council of Agricultural Research. Prior to this, he worked as the Director of the prestigious Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI), New Delhi, and was the Director of National Rice Research Institute (Formerly CRRI), Cuttack, Odisha, and as a researcher and teacher for about 20 years at the National Research Centre on Plant Biotechnology, and IARI, New Delhi, India. His area of specialization is molecular genetics and genomics.

Trilochan Mohapatra has over 150 research papers in national and international journals of repute and several book chapters. His research accomplishments include the development of the first high-yielding Basmati rice variety resistant to bacterial leaf blight through molecular marker assisted selection, and physical mapping and genome sequencing of rice and tomato. His contribution to science is reflected with a high h-index and i10 index.

He received several honours and awards in recognition of his excellent academic and research contributions including the INSA Young Scientist Award, Prof. LSS Kumar Memorial Award, NAAS-Tata Award, IARI-BP Pal Award, DBT Bio-science Award and NASI-Reliance Industries Platinum Jubilee Award. He also received the Recognition Award of the National Academy of Agricultural Sciences for the biennium 2013-14 for significant contributions in Plant Improvement and the Lifetime Achievement Award of the Indian Genetics Congress in recognition of outstanding contribution in the field of Plant Genetics.

He is an esteemed Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi, National Academy of Sciences-India, Allahabad and the National Academy of Agricultural Sciences, New Delhi.